I’ve Got That Peaceful, Easy Feeling

My son, Josh and our new daughter-in-law, Jenna

My son, Josh and our new daughter-in-law, Jenna

Yes, I do love the Eagles.

No, this isn’t about their 1970’s hit.

My oldest son graduated from college in May. A week later he got married. Two days after they returned from their honeymoon, they moved over 550 miles and one state away.

I am extremely happy for them. They both got jobs in their professions after graduating from college. They are smart, good-looking, and sweet and have everything going their way.

But I miss them. I can’t help it. I really, really miss them. I know this is how it’s supposed to be….kids are supposed to move out, and marry…..and moving away can be part of it.

And I’m okay with that. Really. Really, I am.

But it doesn’t mean I don’t miss them and long to see them when they’re gone.

We didn’t get to see them at Thanksgiving, so my excitement for Christmas was over the top. I couldn’t wait for them to get here.

And something amazing happened.

On the first night of their stay, as I pulled the covers back on our bed, getting ready to climb in….knowing my son and his wife were in his old room, my youngest son was in his bed, and my husband was already snoring in ours….I had an overwhelming sense of peace rush over me. I didn’t expect it. In fact, my mind wasn’t even thinking about all of that when this happened…it just happened.

And it was wonderful and amazing….a peaceful, easy feeling, like I haven’t quite felt in months.

And right then, I had everything I wanted for Christmas.