My Wonderful Day!

Today was a wonderful day! I got to spend it doing something I love….cooking for my family.

I just love to cook.

Okay, let me be totally honest. I love to cook when I have an entire day to devote to it. I love going through my cookbooks, looking for some new recipe to try. I even love going to the grocery store (a chore I usually abhor) and taking my time, walking up and down the aisles at a leisurely pace, picking out just the right items I need to make my perfect meal.

And today was one of those days.

Jenna (my daughter-in-law) bought me a kitchen torch quite a while back and I hadn’t used it yet. I needed butane and I finally got around to getting some. So, I told her I would cook dinner for her and Josh tonight and make Creme Brulee for dessert.

Creme Brulee…..oh my….is there anything better? It is my favorite dessert.

I also made Rosemary Focaccia bread and for the main course…..Penne Pasta with Shrimp in a Tomato Creme Sauce! Heaven.

No wonder I am 20 pounds overweight….oh well, I will worry about that tomorrow (I’m channeling Scarlett, can you tell?)

While I was making the bread dough and the custard, I watched Baby Boom with Diane Keaton.

I just love that movie.

Then I used my new speaker that syncs my music from my I-phone and I-Pad (thanks Jake-a-roo!) and listened to Rod Stewart while I cooked dinner, enjoying a new bottle of red wine that I got for Christmas. Not the whole bottle by myself….there is some left….enough for an elf…no, just kidding!

It was a most perfect day.

I know. Many of you probably think I’m crazy or weird. Even I wonder why God couldn’t have made me like running as much as I do cooking.

Nope, no such luck.

And even learning that my cousin’s three little boys, that I hugged and kissed all over last night for at least 2 hours, tested positive for the flu today, couldn’t damper my mood. Not in the least! I just took some vitamins, swigged some orange juice and kept on cooking. Aren’t they cute?

588

Then, right before Josh and Jenna arrived, the most beautiful orange sky appeared as the sun was setting, right outside my kitchen window… as if God was smiling on me….so I ran and took a picture of it.

605

Gorgeous.

Later, Josh and Jenna (who were smart enough to get their flu shots) came over and we ate dinner and enjoyed the Creme Brulee.

It was sublime.

608

Yes, it was a beautiful, wonderful, most perfect day.

Now, if you could please do me one small favor and pray that I don’t get the flu, I would be most grateful….

