T’was the Day Before New Year’s….again…

I wrote this last year…but I’ll be doggoned if it’s not true again this year!  I guess I will never learn!

This is for all of us who indulged a little more than we should have over the past few weeks……

However, here is my disclaimer….this is just a poem – I am not vowing anything publicly!!! I probably should be….but I don’t need the pressure!

 

T’was the day before New Year’s

And running all through my mind

Were all the days that I’d eaten

Everything I could find

 

My clothes were much tighter

And didn’t quite fit

And I examined the bulges

That were new to my hips

 

So I waddled to the scale

In hopes of good news

Surely I could not

Have that much to lose

 

But much to my surprise

And to my dismay

I stood there dumbfounded

At what I did weigh

 

My jaw dropped wide open

This cannot be right

The scale must be broken

I said with a fright

 

So I went to the kitchen

To whip some eggs

And ponder the cellulite

All over my legs

 

When suddenly it hit me

I knew just what to do

I would resolve on this New Year’s

Twenty pounds I would lose

 

Come Atkins, come Weight Watchers

Come NutriSystem too

Surely one of you can help me

Figure out what to do

 

So that by Spring Break

I will look really cute

In a new pair of jeans

And a new bathing suit

 

Then I raised up a toast

To me, looking lean

And to all of my friends

Happy 2015!

 

Written by: Connie Morgenroth

December 31, 2013 and 2014!

