Prioritizing the Pantry

My pantry is a mess. And it’s driving me crazy. For this tidy, typically very organized gal, it’s screaming “Hey, have you forgotten about me?” every time I open the door. Organizing my pantry is not one of my favorite things to do, but alas, it must be done.

Since I work for a school district, I have two weeks off around Christmas every year. It’s wonderful to be home and have the time to spend with family and friends. And to take care of pesky little projects like this one.

So when the week of Christmas has passed, I will have one more week off before I go back to work. And it’s the perfect time to get my pantry back in shape. I’ve done this every Christmas break for the past several years. There is something about the start of a new year makes me want to get my house in order.

Of course, the highlight of my time off is celebrating the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ. One of my favorite scriptures is John 3:16: “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life”. What could be more soul satisfying than that? If you need peace in your life and you haven’t accepted Jesus as your Savior, what are you waiting for?

In some ways, cleaning out and organizing the pantry is like setting priorities in life. We have to look at everything and decide what to keep and what to throw out. There are so many things that vie for our attention, especially in this day of technological overload. While some are good, some are not-so-good, and others are neither good nor bad, just time wasters (any Candy Crush addicts out there?)

We must also decide how much importance each item will have and where it will sit. Will it be the center of our attention, and have the premier spot where it’s easy to reach? Or will we put it on a top shelf, where we have to strain to get to it?

What are your priorities? Are you using your time wisely? Are you making time for God? Are you spending enough time with your family? Do you take the time to listen when your son or daughter is talking to you? Or are you staring at your smart phone deleting another junk email that’s just hit your inbox?

With the end of 2014 quickly approaching, I challenge you to clean out and organize your “priority pantry”. Follow God’s instructions, and put Him first, family second, then work and hobbies. Have the courage to get rid of the things that are “not-so-good” and beware of the time wasters.

If we align ourselves with God’s will for us, we’ll be happier and more fulfilled in 2015. And it will truly be a Happy New Year.

May God bless you all this Christmas season!

Connie…aka Sweet Tea and Poetry
December 14, 2014

