My Review of the Pioneer Woman Cooks – A Year of Holidays Cookbook

I love books. And I especially love cookbooks. I love buying them and reading them and have a small collection that grows a little each year. Some, I’ve used over and over, but others, I have hardly used at all. As a result, I’ve become pretty picky about what I buy.

If you like to cook, like I do, you probably enjoy buying and reading cookbooks too. So, I thought it might be fun to review some of my favorites.

Last year, I purchased the Pioneer Woman Cooks – A Year of Holidays by Ree Drummond. I purchased it from Barnes and Nobles, one of my favorite stores. I could literally spend hours in that store….in fact I have.

Since I cook Thanksgiving dinner for my family each year, I am always looking for a new, better way to cook the turkey. In fact, I’ve tried several recipes over the years. I’ve tried some from Southern Living (SL) and a couple that I’ve seen on the Food Network and the Cooking Channel. And although some were pretty good, none were what I would consider “perfection”.

Last year, I decided to try the Pioneer Woman’s (PW’s) brine and roasted turkey recipe from this cookbook. And all I can say is….Wow! I followed her instructions exactly and it was the best turkey I had ever cooked. That is, until this year, when I followed it again and it turned out even better; extremely moist and flavorful. I usually don’t eat much turkey, but this is absolutely delicious. This will be the only brine and turkey recipe that I use from now on.

I’ve also made her Cranberry Sauce which uses maple syrup instead of sugar, and fell in love. Even my husband, who preferred the canned stuff to my homemade, now prefers this.

This Thanksgiving, I also tried her homemade pie crust and homemade cloverleaf rolls. I loved the pie crust. I didn’t think it would be flaky because my butter wasn’t extremely cold when I made it, but it was awesome. I used it with my husband’s favorite Bourbon Pecan Pie and it was spectacular! It made that pie even better than it already was.

The homemade rolls, however, were just okay. I may need to try to make them again, as PW loves her roll recipe, but mine weren’t fabulous. I have another recipe that I made last year, from SL, that I thought was better.
Other recipes that I have tried from this cookbook include the Burgundy Mushrooms, Perfect Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, and Broccoli-Cheese Soup. These all turned out very good.

Overall, this is a great cookbook. It’s filled with lots of pictures and bits of PW’s life that I’ve grown to enjoy reading about. I would definitely recommend it. In fact, I have bought several copies to give as gifts this year.

So, if you need a cookbook or know someone who would enjoy getting a cookbook for Christmas, you should consider this one. Be aware that this is not a healthy, low-calorie or low-fat cookbook. The recipes are more in the “comfort food” category, which is what I would consider PW’s style of cooking.

I hope this was helpful. And let me know what you think about this cookbook if you already have it or decide to purchase it based on what I’ve written.

Until next time,
Connie, aka Sweet Tea and Poetry

P.S. This cookbook review is strictly my opinion and I am not being compensated for writing this review.

