Keep the Faith

The older I get, the more I realize how much is out of my control. My type A personality wants to control everything and fix problems as soon as they rear their ugly heads. I try my best. I really do. I work hard. I plan. I make lists of what must be done. Sometimes, I manipulate. Or I make deals. And I often lecture. Nothing works. I am rendered useless and become depressed and defeated.

There is something else that I know to be true. We all have problems.

Surely, mine would probably seem unbearable to you (if you knew them), and you’d be happy to keep your own. However, I’d probably think the same of yours.

Each day, every one of us faces a myriad of problems. There are times when they actually are insignificant. The small stuff that we are told not to let get us down. If those are the kinds you are dealing with today, count your blessings.

And then other days, they are big. The kinds that make you want to get in your car and drive away to another state. The kind that leave you wondering if things will ever change or get better. The kind that leave you feeling bewildered and hopeless and questioning everything.

What are we to do when we face these? The ones that seem larger than mountains.

I wish I had a magic wand that I could wave so that I could wave them all away. I would wave away sickness and addiction and cancer and hunger and poverty, just to start with. Injustice and lawlessness and discrimination too. Oh, how I could really make a difference with my wand!

And yet, we all have something that can be used to help us fight against our problems.

What is it?

Prayer.

The Bible says in James 5:16 “The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective”. James also tells us that we should pray whenever we are in trouble. And surely, whenever we are sick because our “prayers offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up and his sins will be forgiven”. Not all healing takes place in the body and sometimes the healing comes through death. These are the things we will never understand until we get to heaven and so we must trust God and believe that He loves us and He knows what is best for us in all circumstances.

Why then do we still get down and lose hope? Well, first of all because we are human. We cannot see what God is doing in the spiritual world on our behalf. My wise mother reminded me recently that victory could be right around the corner, even tomorrow, and that we cannot lose faith and give up.

So that is my advice to you, and me. Don’t give up. Don’t let Satan rob you of your hope or your joy. Keep the faith. Even when it’s hard. Especially when it’s hard because tomorrow could be the answer you’ve been praying for.

“Because He loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life, will I satisfy him and show him my salvation”. Psalm 91: 14-16

Did you notice all of the ‘I will’s’? Not I might, or I’ll think about it, but God says “I will”.

So rest easy, God’s “I will” is on its way in your life. To fix your problems. To deliver you out of darkness and to make His light shine on your circumstances.

Friends, as it is written in Psalm 30: 5 “weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning”.

So take heart and may we all be found rejoicing when the sun comes up tomorrow!

Written by: Connie Morgenroth
May 7, 2014

