What’s Your Dream Job?

I think most people have a dream job. It’s the job they would do for free if they won the lottery and didn’t need the money.

For a lucky few, their current job is their dream job. Those who are extremely talented or gifted in some way, tend to fall into this category, such as musicians and athletes. As do those who have a calling on their lives. But I believe those people are the exception and not the norm.

For the rest of us, while we may enjoy what we do and gain a lot of satisfaction from it, it’s not our dream job.

What is my dream job? Mine is to be a writer. My dream job would be writing about whatever I like, while staying at home in my p.j.’s all day. Well, maybe not all day, but for most of the morning anyway.

And, since I don’t like the spotlight, writing in some sort of anonymous capacity would be even better. I actually started writing my blog anonymously, but found it hard to maintain that level of privacy on the internet. So, finally, I decided to just be me….the author of my blog. And I’m okay with it. The more I write, the more comfortable I get.

Which is what makes having this blog so much fun….I get to practice working at my dream job whenever I feel like it.

The thing is…it doesn’t feel like work.

Now, I know I have a lot to learn about writing. I’ve never taken any creative writing courses, and I didn’t major in journalism in college. In fact, I had never thought about being a writer when I was in college. My interest in writing started about 13 years ago.

I find it interesting that I can be so passionate now about something that I never even thought about when I was young. But I am. And that is why I started blogging.

And I am not alone. From reading other writers’ blogs, I’ve learned that there are many people out there that share my dream.

Of course, some are much better at writing than I am. But I don’t let that discourage me, because practice makes perfect. So, I just keep on writing…and doing what I’m doing…and hoping that I’ll get better as I go.

Enough about me. What about you? Do you have dream job? If so, please share it with me. I’d love to hear from you.

