Our Awesome Military!

My husband and I watched the movie, Captain Phillips, last night and I came away from it with a new sense of appreciation for our U.S. military, especially the Navy and their “bad to the bone” Navy Seals. First let me say, if you haven’t seen it, I strongly recommend it, and I’ll try not to give away too much of the plot here. It’s one of those, very intense, on the edge of your seats, kind of movies that, when it’s over, you almost have to take a deep breath and sit there for a minute to think about all you’ve just watched.

In the movie, after the ship is taken over by pirates, Captain Phillips radios our emergency response for help. They immediately send two Navy ships and a carrier to the Maersk Alabama. By the time the ships arrive on the scene, the conflict has escalated. Captain Phillips has been taken hostage inside a small capsule like life boat with four armed Somali pirates. The situation is extremely volatile. The pirates are desperate and they intend to use the Captain as a ransom for money. The Navy Seals are then dispatched. Now, I realize I was watching a movie and the depiction is likely very different from what actually happened. However, it really made me appreciate what an awesome military we have. These guys are brave and they are experts at what they do. In the movie, they devise a plan to get one of the pirates onto a Navy ship to “negotiate” while the other three remain in the lifeboat. They then create the circumstances to be what they need them to be, in order to rescue the captain. And while the situation inside the lifeboat was chaotic, our military was calm and knew exactly what had to be done.

Watching this movie, and seeing how they rescued the Captain, using advanced technology with everyone working together as a team, was amazing. I especially liked one part, when the military first arrives on the scene and wants to make their presence known. They blow their horn to make a lot of noise so that the pirates will open the door to the lifeboat to see what’s out there. When Captain Phillips sees all the force of the U.S. Navy that is there to help him, he smiles really big. You can see the relief on his face. I don’t know if it really happened like that, but I don’t think it’s unrealistic to think that it could have.

I often take living in this great country of ours for granted. Our rights, our freedoms, our justice system, and our military make it the greatest nation in the world. And while politically, I don’t always agree with what is going on, there is no argument that as Americans, we have it far better than most of the rest of the world.

I’m proud to be an American. And I’m so thankful that we have the best military in the world. The next time I run into a serviceman or veteran, I’m going to tell them just how much I appreciate them. Because they play such a large role in what makes us great.

