What Goes on the Shelves in a Bar?

Hint: This is not a trick question.  Hold your answers…. you’ll see why in a few minutes.

I’ve been really busy lately.  I haven’t even taken the time to write.  Or blog.  Or write about blogging.

So, that’s what I’m doing now.  Writing.  Blogging.  Writing about blogging.

The truth is….I’ve been working on my house.  Trying to spruce it up a bit.  We’re having a few friends over to celebrate my husband’s birthday.  He’ll be 50 in a few days.

And I just know he’ll love the fact that I’ve shared that here.

But please don’t tell him I told you if you happen to run into him.  Mums the word…..there’s no reason to test my theory…..just trust me.

Back to the house.  We’ve lived here a few years, but I still have a couple of empty rooms.  With no furniture at all. Gasp! I know.  It’s a real shame.

One of the rooms is a bar.  We have some bar stools.  Yay!  That was a start.  And right before Christmas, we got a T.V. and a poker table.  Fun, fun….right?

But it didn’t look finished.  It needed something.  I thought it might need a couple of pictures and a rug to go under the poker table (which is in the center of the room).

Confession:  If you’ve never been to my house, I must tell you that I am not good at decorating.  Which probably explains why I don’t like to decorate and have empty rooms.  I try.  I really do try.  I spent several hours just decorating the shelves in the bar.  But they still looked awful.

And so, after getting super-duper frustrated, as I did one day a couple of weeks ago, after many trips to Hobby Lobby, with the bar room still looking hideous, I called for reinforcements.

Well, I called Trudy.  She’s a pro.  And we set a date for her to come over and help me with the bar.

Which brings me back to my question…….

The day after I called Trudy, my 22-year-old nephew came over and said “Hey, Aunt Connie, why don’t you just put some liquor bottles on the shelves?  That’s what they’re for.”

He’s a genius.

And I don’t want to think about what that makes me.  Let’s just not go there, okay?  No, I hadn’t thought of that.  I am not kidding either.  Sometimes I amaze myself at how utterly dense I can be.

But back to the bar.  And my unsuccessful attempts to decorate it.

After I added the liquor bottles and rearranged some things, the shelves began to come together.

And by the time Trudy got here, a week later (and after a few more trips to Hobby Lobby and Specs) I had the shelves pretty much done.  I just needed her to tell me they looked okay.  And she did.

I thought she would suggest we go buy a rug to put under the poker table and a couple of pictures for the walls, and that would finish it.

Wrong.  I am wrong a lot when it comes to decorating.

She looked at the bar room and decided we needed more furniture.  “We need to fill up the space” she said.  See what I mean?  I would have never thought that was the problem.  She pushed the poker table over to one side and showed me where she thought we needed a couple of chairs and a table.  Like a little conversational area.  Wow.  I was amazed.

So, we went shopping and she helped me pick out some chairs that have cow hide on them…they are so cool.  They even swivel.  And we got this cool lamp with horns on it.  And to top it all off, she said we should hang a deer on the wall in the spot where I would have put a picture.  Guess who loved that idea?

All I have left to do is buy a cowhide rug to go under the table and the chairs and it’s done.

Whew…..that was hard work.

Now I should have more time to get back to doing what I enjoy.  Like writing, and blogging, and writing about blogging……

photoA picture of the seating area (except for the cow hide rug which I don’t have yet, but when I get it I’ll post another picture of it totally done)!

Okay, here it is….one with the cowhide rug and another of the bar area (taken at the party).
DSC00619
DSC00620

