T’was the Day Before New Year’s

For all of us who indulged a little more than we should have over the past few weeks……And here is my disclaimer….this is just a poem – I am not vowing anything publicly!!! I probably should be….but I don’t need the pressure!

T’was the day before New Year’s
And running all through my mind
Were all the days that I’d eaten
Everything I could find

My clothes were much tighter
And didn’t quite fit
And I examined the bulges
That were new to my hips

So I waddled to the scale
In hopes of good news
Surely I could not
Have that much to lose

But much to my surprise
And to my dismay
I stood there dumbfounded
At the amount I did weigh

My jaw dropped wide open
This cannot be right
The scale must be broken
I said with a fright

So I went to the kitchen
To whip some eggs
And ponder the cellulite
All over my legs

When suddenly it hit me
I knew just what to do
I would resolve on this New Year’s
Twenty pounds I would lose

Come Atkins, come Weight Watchers
Come NutriSystem too
Surely one of you can help me
Figure out what to do

So that I will look awesome
In my new bathing suit
By Spring Break, I vowed
To be looking cute

Then I raised up a toast
To me, looking lean
And to all of my friends
Happy 2014!

Written by: Connie Morgenroth
December 30, 2013

2 thoughts on “T’was the Day Before New Year’s

Comments are closed.